Korean supermarket lunch

imageAs I mentioned in my previous post, life is a bit busy at the moment, and I haven’t packed a lot of lunches to blog about. Fortunately for me, I live very close to some large Korean supermarkets, Koreafoods and H Mart in New Malden.

So today’s lunch is packed with courtesy of the ready made food counter of H mart! The container on the left has Japchae – stir fried potato starch noodles with vegetables and sesame/soy flavouring.  This version at the supermarket doesn’t have any beef in it, so the other container holds spicy chicken. So delicious!  There are some tomato pieces in the last container to add a bit of health to this lunch..

Whilst I was at H mart, I saw these instant Hetbahn Cupbahn instant rice bowls from CJ. CJ Cheiljedang  is a huge Korean food producer (among other), and brands include Beksul, Bibigo, CJ Hat Kimchi, DASIDA and Haechandle. I think that here in the UK, Bibigo is the most well known as they have also several restaurants in central London. Bibigo food products were originally created only to be exported, to spread Korean cuisine around the world, but it became so popular that it is now sold in Korea itself as well.

imageAnyway, to go back to these Hetbahn cupbahn rice bowls… apparently “bahn” is a traditional way of saying “bap = rice”, meaning main meal. As I will be away on a course for the next two weeks, I thought to try out a few. There were different flavours, but I choose the assorted vegetables bibimbap and soft tofu stew ones as these are some of my favourite korean dishes.

wp-1474121815996.jpg

I also bought some instant ramen. I know, not very healthy! But I won’t be able to prepare proper food for myself and I don’t want to have to go out for dinner every evening. Plus…secretly… I quite like instant ramen… it always reminds me of Korean dramas. Everyone in Korean dramas seems to eat ramen, usually bought and heated up at the local supermarket and topped up with some processed cheese. Not sure about the processed cheese…. but I will update on how the Hetbah cupbahn turn out!

Take care and let me know if you have any favourite instant Korean food!

10 thoughts on “Korean supermarket lunch

  1. Pingback: Bibimbap Hetbahn cup | dosirakbento

  2. hhmm.. get yourself some indonesian instant noodle if you can, and compare. as for me, i much prefer rice over noodles, so i would prefer those instant rice bowls better.

  3. Pingback: Sundubu Jjigae | dosirakbento

  4. Pingback: Banchan – Korean side dishes (part 1 of 2) | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

