Cake pops

cakepops.jpg

So what do you do with left over cake?

Turn them into cake pops!

Cake pops are literally that, a cake ball on a lollipop stick. If you google cake pops you will find the most creative designs and versions. Often people will bake a cake to make these and you can even buy a special cake pop maker or molds which will bake cakes in perfectly round balls.

It’s much easier though to use cake left overs, and better as well as you won’t waste anything πŸ™‚

I don’t have a recipe, but normally you crumble up a cake and mix it with some buttercream/frosting. As I had made a dark chocolate cake with chocolate buttercream, I used this for my version. The mixture needs to be moist but firm, you don’t want the cake pops falling apart.

First you roll the cake mixture into balls, approximately the size of a walnut/golf ball (I actually weighed them to make sure they were all equal). If you make them too large, they will get too heavy and will fall off the stick. Plus,Β you can’t really easily pop them into your mouth! After rolling the balls, I placed them in the fridge to harden up, this took about 45 minutes. I meanwhile prepped my drying board, a piece of foam in which I pierced some holes to fit the lollipop sticks.

I also melted a small portion of candy melts, I used these from Wilton which were supposed to be red but turned out pink! Not sure what candy melts are exactly, I suspect sugar with vegetable fats and colouring, but they smell and taste vaguely chocolaty as well. You can melt them in the microwave. Just take care to stir often and heat in short burst to avoid burning the candy melts!

Once the cake pop balls had hardened up, I inserted the sticks by dipping the top part in the candy melt mixture and inserting this halfway into the cake ball. This helps the stick to “stick” to the cake. Popped the tray bake into the fridge for another 30 minutes so that the candy melt “glue” could set.

I then melted some more candy melts for dipping the cake balls.Β Aside from the colour failure, I also felt that the mixture was quite thick. This was the first timeΒ I made these, so I wasn’t sure of the consistency, but I thinned it out with some Trex untilΒ smooth and a bit runny. Β I had read somewhere that you should not dip an ice cold ball into a hot coating mixture, to avoid cracking. Makes sense, and I took out the pops from the fridge again and waited for another 10 minutes for them to warm up and the mixture to cool down before dipping the ball into the mixture and carefully tapping off any excess. Not really sure how to best describe it, but there are lots of videos on Youtube that show this. You sort of want a thin, smooth coating all around the cake ball.

After dipping, I either dipped the top half again in some hundreds-and-thousands before the glaze had set, or I stuck them immediately into the foam board to dry.Β  I had one or two accidents, when the ball threatened to slip of the stick, so I dried these upside down and used them for quality control check πŸ˜›

Finally, I wrapped them all up individually in little cellophane bags.

 

 

They look pretty, and are nice – if a bit sweetly- to eat, but also quite a faff to make, so not sure if I would make them very often. I guess I have to find some more ideas for using left over cake… any suggestions?

 

17 thoughts on “Cake pops

  1. Genius! My daughter absolutely loves cake pops! I’m a cook not a baker so I’ve never actually considered making them myself, my daughter obtains hers from our necessary stops in the Starbucks drive thru. You make this sound so incredibly simple, I’ll have to give it a try next time there happens to be leftover birthday cake (someone else baked) laying around. πŸ˜‰

  2. May I suggest trifle from English cuisine? πŸ˜‰
    South/middle German bakeries/confectionary shops produce a thing called Granatsplitter (see https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Granatsplitter). It’s kind of a bigger cake pop with rum (or rum flavour at least) sitting on a base of shortbread/biscuit/waffle.
    But usually we don’t have leftovers from cake. Depending on the type of your cake you could think about freezing.

    • Oh, cake and rum, that sound good! Will have a look at it.

      Yes, I often freeze left over cake or make trifle, but my freezer is not large enough and there is only so much trifle one can eat! So I am always looking for more ideas for using up cake left overs!

      Thanks for your suggestions.

  3. I just yesterday made zwieback out of left-over coconut bread. You can basically do that with every cake that doesn’t have icing or cream filling.

    • Wow, zwieback, that is an interesting suggestion. I would never have thought of that as I would usually associate that with left over bread, not cake.
      Will have to try it out!
      Thanks for your suggestion.

    • You’re welcome!
      I heard that lots of people bake a cake to make cake pops, but indeed, why not use left overs! At least, when it goes wrong, you won’t have wasted too much…

      I have to admit that I did think it was rather a lot of work for a small cake bite, so not sure if I would do them again soon…

  4. Nice post! I myself have a love-hate relationship with cake pops! I love making them, and eating them and getting wonderful comments about them but…it does come with a price, I hate it when they crack and these silly things you only find once you’re all about ready to wrap them up…:P But they are a delicious treat and my kiddos love them!

    • Love-hate! I can sort of imagine myself having that sort of relationship with them, although my love is definitely for the eating and less for the making πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

