Song of the shrimp

image

“I saw three shrimp in the water, two were old and gray
I swam a little bit closer and I heard the third one say

Goodbye mama shrimp, papa shake my hand
Here come the shrimper for to take me to Louisian’
Here come the shrimper for to take me to Louisian’

He showed his mama and papa the shrimp newspaper he read
An invitation to all the shrimp and this is what it said
Free ride, New Orleans, stay in grand hotel
Big Creole gal who help you come out of your shell
Big Creole gal who help you come out of your shell

If I should live to be ninety, I will never forget
The little shrimp and the song he sang as he jumped into the net

Goodbye mama shrimp, papa shake my hand
Here come the shrimper for to take me to Louisian’
Here come the shrimper for to take me to Louisian’

Here come the shrimper for to take me to Louisian’
Here come the shrimper for to take me to Louisian’ “

– Elvis Presley –

I used to have this boyfriend, and every time -yes every single time- we ate shrimp or prawns, he would sing this song. He sang it with a proper “Lousiana” accent and the first few times it was pretty amusing, but after several repetitions the record got old. Anyway, long after we split up, this song still comes to mind every time I eat shrimps -and I guess it will if I should live to be ninety! 🙂

In my lunch today the shrimp have definitely come out of their shell, instead it has been replaced by a crumb coat. Not by a “big Creole gal” but by a -probably Korean- staff member at the supermarket I bought them.

To off-set the greasiness of the breaded shrimp, I added some pickled radish (danmuji), and some seasoned garlic stems. You don’t see garlic stems (also known as garlic scapes) in the British supermarkets but you might be able to find them -during Spring- at farmers markets or in Asian supermarkets. They are rather good, a bit like spring onion but chewier and with a hint of garlic. I found this farm on the Isle of Wright that grows them and apparently you can easily grow them yourself by planting a garlic bulb.

I also added some mini corn and edamame to make it healthier and packed it all in the bottom tier of my pretty pink lidded box. It was a bit of a squeeze, and I did put some foil on the garlic stems to avoid spilling as this box is not really suitable to be transported as single tier (it doesn’t have any inner lids), so I had to secure the lid with a bento band. I also made sure it had cooled down completely before I packed it to keep the breaded shrimps (which I had reheated in the oven for 10 minutes) crispy.

Now off to Louisian’…

5 thoughts on “Song of the shrimp

  1. Pingback: Trio of prawns | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

