Chicken Teriyaki Bento

Bento with teriyaki

Finally a bento again!

Quite a simple one, no fancy cutters or cute smiley faces, but a very nice one in taste.

I actually copied this bento from another blogger, Mr Masa (see his blogpost here). Mr Masa is a Japanese chef, sharing his (mostly Japanese) recipes with us. I love his blog, it is so well laid out, the recipes are easy to make, explained step by step with lots of photos and most importantly taste very good!

Some of his recipes are very suitable for Bento and he also gives lots of tips & trips. If you’re interested in cooking Japanese food, check out his blog.

You will also notice that the rice in this Bento is coloured. It is actually black rice, and pre-cooked-shop bought! As you know, I am a bit of a rice snob and also in love with my (Japanese) rice cooker. BUT, variety is good, and sometimes the microwave is very convenient :-).

There are lots of ready cooked microwaveable rice packs/brands on the market, I have no idea whether this one is better than others, actually I am not even sure what black rice is (mixed with white rice it does look purple instead of black) but I really like the taste of this one. The portion is quite generous for a lunch though, so I only packed 3/4 of it.

wp-1455796310583.jpg

My bento box is different than the one Mr Masa is using, plus I made a lot more of his crispy potato/carrot salad (so delicious!), so I packed it slightly different. Other small changes were replacing the umeboshi with a cherry tomato, and using thinly sliced cucumber instead of salad leaves underneath the chicken.

This blog post is part of my attempt to clean up my Blogs I Follow list

12 thoughts on “Chicken Teriyaki Bento

  1. I see that you used Korean instant rice! I actually use that brand a lot – pretty good. They are all kind of the same…When I microwave it, I actually leave the top totally off so more steam can escape which means the rice will be less wet for me since I prefer more dry rice. Great post!

    • Wow every day!
      I try every other day but have been very slacking in the last half year. Now slowly restarting again. There will be some cute bentos again but certainly less than previous year.

      When I started making bentos, I did notice most other bento bloggers seem to be geared towards children but I cheer every other adult bento maker/blogger 😀

      Thanks for your comment, will check out your blog.

  2. Pingback: Mix Plate #11 – Blog of Hammad Rais

  3. Pingback: Quail Bunny – and thoughts on cute or not cute food | dosirakbento

  4. we have plenty of black rice here in indonesia. mostly glutinous black rice. but yes, once cooked, it resembles the color of deep dark purple-red. when it comes to the non-glutinous one, it is mostly red rice, equivalent to western brown rice but with a dull brown-red coloring when cooked. this is what i often have daily, as it has a much lower sugar content than the regular white rice, and so it doesn’t make me get all sleepy after lunch. i hate it when i get all sleepy at work but can’t do anything about it.

    • I didn’t realise that it has a lower sugar content than white rice, but it makes sense. The other day I saw a pack of black rice and the picture off it cooked looked like very sticky purple red, like you describe. I wonder if you could just add half a cup to 1 and 1/2 cup of normal rice in the cooker, will have to try it out one day.

      • in general, i think glutinous rice, no matter what colour, would have similar or more level of sugar content as a regular white rice. but when it comes to regular rice that is NOT white, they all tend to have more fiber and nutritional value, and much less sugar content.

Leave a Reply

