Cake not bento

wp-1455533080423.jpg

Instead of making my lunches, I have been busy baking cakes! I know this blog is supposed to be about the Β boxed lunches I make for myself…but well, if there is no lunch to post about…I will post instead about a cake I made last weekend for a birthday girl.

Usually I don’t make cake for others, or strictly speaking, no “commissioned” cakes. I am an amateur home baker, and all my bakes are consumed at home or at the office, so this cake was a bit of a challenge for me. I normally only use fondant when I make my biyearly Christmas cake (too much effort to make it each year), and whilst I really like playing with fondant – it’s a bit like play dough isn’t it?- I don’t have much experience with it.

The cake consists of 3 layers of Victoria Sponge (two coloured pink), sandwiched together with strawberry jam. All encased in marzipan and fondant, and decorated with more fondant. It contains a whopping 12 eggs, 675 gr each of SR flour, butter and sugar and approx 750 gram each of marzipan and fondant! The whole cake, including the fondant covered board weighs 3.5 kg!

It was made in 3 stages (plus preparing the board and template in advance) , day 1: bake cake, cool down. Day 2: level cake, fill with jam, cut into shape, cover with marzipan. Day 3: cover with fondant and decorate.

I actually used my sakura flower bento cutter for making the little flower decoration on the small gift cakes πŸ™‚

Here are some photos of the process.

 

I really enjoyed making this cake, and am now seriously considering taking someΒ cake decorating lessons to improve my fondant skills.

And yes, yes… bento lunches will come back…later this year….

23 thoughts on “Cake not bento

  1. Ahh I wish I turned one year old and received a cake like this… btw I think cakes and bentos are both equally awesome, so I wouldn’t mind it if you were to make more posts like this πŸ˜€

    • A friend of mine who lives in NL has an adopted chicken, ie no need to feed or clucking noises but only the eggs. She still needs to go to a shop though to collect them… 😊

      • you can always start small. do your regular savory bento, with the addition of sweet ones (cake) in the same bento, as your after meal dessert.

Leave a Reply

