Watermelon feta and black olive salad

watermelon feta olive saladAfter Hello Kitty enjoying some watermelon (in my previous post), I thought to turn some of the remaining watermelon into this refreshing salad.

My recipe is based on Nigella’s (see link here), but I made a few minor changes.

Ingredients

  • banana shallot, in thin slices
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • approx 750 watermelon, cubed
  • 150 grams feta cheese, cubed
  • 75 grams pitted black olives
  • 1/2 bunch mint, large leaves roughly torn, smaller leaves whole
  • black pepper

Method

  • Marinate the shallot in the lemon juice and olive oil.
  • Carefully toss watermelon, feta and olives together.
  • Add the shallot/juice/oil with  juices plus the mint and mix again, very gently so it doesn’t break up.
  • Season with black pepper.

My changes:

Nigella’s recipe has larger quantities, so I roughly halved the ingredients. She also uses limes instead of lemon, but I only had a lemon and didn’t want to go to the shop for just one ingredient. That’s also why I omitted the parsley from her recipe. Finally, I felt that the olive oil detracted a bit from the “freshness” of the salad, that’s why I mixed it with the shallot and only used 1 tablespoon, but you can of course up that according to your taste.

I packed the salad in my lunch box and added some a tomato, mini bread rolls and cherries to it. The green container holds some red wine chorizo slices.

4 thoughts on “Watermelon feta and black olive salad

  1. oh yum. i would love that watermelon salad. by the way, i follow a food blogger channel on youtube called TabiEats. they have what seem to be an awesome watermelon salsa. you might enjoy that.

Leave a Reply

