Salmon salad & salmon crisps

Salmon salad bento

Didn’t fancy any rice in my lunch today and opted instead for a salad with cooked salmon.

Whenever I see salmon fillet on offer, I will buy it. If we don’t have it for dinner, I will either turn it into salted salmon (see this recipe from Just Bento) or I will oven cook it. Both ways I will portion it up for the fridge/freezer and future use in my lunchbox.

I find cooking salmon in the oven the easiest method, just pop it onto a non-stick tray, with a smidgen of vegetable oil, and oven cook it for 15 minutes in preheated oven at 200 C. (Depending on size/thickness of fillet you might need a few minutes more or less). Β Plus it has the extra advantage that you can turn the skin into crisps! More about that later..

My salmon salad has loads of veggies in it, there is some shredded iceberg lettuce hidden underneath, (cooked) green beans and broccoli, some cucumber and carrots and a few radishes. Plus of course loads of cooked salmon. And I made a very simple, but incredibleΒ delicious dressing: 2 tbl soy sauce mixed with 1 tsp each of sesame oil, apple vinegar and sugar. I only mixed the salad & dressing together when I ate it, and it really made the whole salad come together! Will definitely make this more often.

The other container was filled with some nice summer fruit, the raspberries are actually from our garden! Neither of us is very green fingered but somehow the raspberry bushes manage to survive our clumsy skills πŸ™‚

To off-set all that healthy food, I turned the salmon skin into crisps. Salmon is supposed to be quite healthy isn’t it, but I guess that applies more to the fish flesh itself and not to the skin… I think that here in the UK a lot of people don’t eat the skin of fish, maybe partly because of the way it is prepared, ie the skin is not crispy. But I find crispy salmon skin delicious and it’s so easy to make.

  • First oven bake the salmon (see above).
  • Once the salmon is cooked, it’s very easy to remove the skin from the flesh. Use the salmon flesh itself for something else and pop the skin back on the same oven tray.
  • Sprinkle with a bit of sea salt and optionally a drop more oil (depends on the quality of the non-stick tray).
  • Up the oven temp to 220 and bake the skin for a further 5-10 minutes until crispy.
  • Let is cool down and cut into bite size pieces. It’s easiest to use scissors.
  • Enjoy!

salmon skin crisps

P.s. I once had salmon crispy skin sushi roll, can’t remember where, but it’s delicious. I guess it works quite well because of the texture difference, but you will have to eat it freshly made otherwise the skin will go all limpy again.

3 thoughts on “Salmon salad & salmon crisps

    • Hmm yes crispy salmon skin! Never tried it with other fish though, maybe I should.
      The dressing is so simple and works really well with cooked salmon, was suprised by it as hadn’t really given it much thought when I mixed it for packing. Love it when it turns out like that 😊

  1. Pingback: Left over salmon | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

