Kimchi fried rice

Kimchi fried riceMy version of Kimchi fried rice….It’s my version because I didn’t actually follow a recipe..and there are lots of versions around … but basically you just need rice and kimchi!

My version is made with left over rice, a few bits of veggies and of course chopped up kimchi.  All just very quickly pan-fried and topped with some egg strips. Initially I was thinking of going creative with the egg, maybe making a sun or something, but then the yolk broke and well…it got chopped up instead 🙂

The other container has some Doenjang soup (Korean style miso soup) and there is some melon as dessert.  The very eagle eyed among you might notice that it is actually Basmati rice and not my usual Koshikari Japonica rice…Japonica rice will always have my preference – see also my post “are you a rice snob” – and I use that 99 out of 100 times, but we do sometimes eat other rice….

If you want a more authentic recipe for Kimchi Fried rice (Kimchi Bokkeum Bap) check out the two websites below: Maangchi and Crazy Korean Cooking.

  • Maangchi: This wonderful lady has been posting videos and recipes since 2007! She has made Korean cooking very accessible for non Korean speakers, and her website offers a lot of information on ingredients, technique and shops.  She also has a lot of interaction with her readers and viewers, or as she says herself:

    everything on this site has been driven by readers/viewers and their suggestions

  • Crazy Korean Cooking: Grace and Stephanie seem to be two Crazy Korean ladies who love cooking! But underneath their often very hilarious video’s, there is a mine of useful information. I love it that their recipes are very organised and quantities are easy to change in metric/us measurements and also into serving size. Lots of additional information on the website, so definitely worth checking out. And do watch one of their video’s, I think my favourite one is the Kimchi making one where they dress up as two Ahjummas!

When I first started to cook Korean food, I would automatically go to these two websites, but since then I have also discovered lots of other bloggers who share their interest and knowledge of the Korean cuisine. I will try to highlight some of those bloggers in future posts, but meanwhile, please have a look at these two websites 🙂

 

This blog post is part of my attempt to clean up my Blogs I Follow list

15 thoughts on “Kimchi fried rice

  1. I love Maangchi! I’ve been making her Pajeon lately. Actually making my own twist on them which I will share soon! But back to your recipe – I LOVE the egg strips on top! What an inspired idea.

  2. i think if i were ti make my own kimchi fried rice, it would entail stir frying pieces of bacon and cook in kimchi, then add in rice to stir until fully incorporated, and season to taste. but to enjoy it, i would top it off with half-cooked egg. the kind one may find in ramen noodle soup dish. i like the idea of cutting the runny yolk and let it stain my kimchi fried rice to add richness to balance the spicy-sour flavor. YUM.

  3. Ooooo! This looks good. We haven’t yet found kimchi we like here and I still have dreams of making a batch. I’d love to try making kimchi gyoza from scratch. Ahem… well, I mean, I’d love to *eat* my hubby’s kimchi gyoza from scratch. Do you have any tips for holding Korean chopsticks? I have trouble with the metal and the flat shape.

    • Hmm. no tips really, but then I hold my chopsticks completely different than the “recommended” way. The silly thing is that I can’t remember who ever taught me that way, and I don’t know anyone who has the same method. Can’t describe it here, but maybe I should make a post about it some time. Would be quite interesting to see if anyone else uses the same technique…

      • That would be interesting! I learned years ago going to Chinese restaurants. I think my mom or dad taught me. I don’t hold hashi properly. I’ve tried but it doesn’t work for my old habit.

Leave a Reply

