Jerusalem artichoke, a lunchbox recipe challenge!

In my veg box yesterday:

image

Jerusalem artichoke!

I have eaten them before, mainly roasted or in salads and love the taste, but never cooked with them….

So I thought it would be fun to put a challenge to my readers and ask you: what should I make with these? πŸ™‚

Suggestions should (ideally) be something with a Japanese or Korean twist AND/OR suitable to put into my lunchbox. Plus of course it should be something that I would like….. 😜

(At Hilary: NO that doesn’t mean a mayo-based salad…)

If one of my lovely readers/followersΒ comes up with a great (and for me workable) idea/recipe, I will dedicate the resulting lunchbox/bento/dosirak to you & will link back to your blog (if you have one)!

Please put your suggestions in the comments box and I am curious to see what you’ll come up with!

18 thoughts on “Jerusalem artichoke, a lunchbox recipe challenge!

    • Think they are also called topinambour in some countries.

      The cooked texture is a bit like a firm salad potato but it tastes much sweeter and a bit nutty. I think they call it artichoke because the taste (when cooked) is a bit similar to the bottom bit of a cooked artichoke.
      I have eaten it raw as well, it has a nice crispy texture but I prefer it cooked.

  1. Pingback: Kimchi & Onigiri Dosirakbento | dosirakbento

  2. The tombinambour dishes I know are
    – roasted/baked/fried in slices (as side dish or added to salads/veggie bowls)
    – mash/puree
    – gratin (with other veggies)
    – veggie ragout, veggie mixes
    – creamy soup
    – risotto (italian style rice)
    – added raw to salads
    – in Moroccan tahine
    – spread (on bread) — this is my favorite
    If you might want to search German recipes, use search term “tombinambur” and let google translate.
    Actually I think the roasted slices are best use in bento.
    If you want to eat it in greater quantities (as side dish), be warned … it contains inulin that might cause flatulences to persons not used to it.

  3. Pingback: Roast Chicken Blunch with Jerusalem Artichoke | dosirakbento

  4. Who me? Little ol’ me? Ha ha ha! I wish I’d seen this sooner so I could have FILLED your comments with mayo lβ™₯ve. By the way, I’ve never heard of these before. They sound delish!

  5. I haven’t had these but the bread suggestion reminds me of my taro bread. I really should post that on my food site. Boil until cooked (with skin to keep nutrients intact). Remove peel and spread mashed flesh thinly on parchment paper (or foil if you must). Oven 350 degrees and watch to keep it from burning. My son loves it. I’m sure it’ll work for the J.A.

Leave a Reply

