Hello Kitty Bento

image

After making the Hello Kitty Steamed Buns (see post here), I still had some buns left over. I thought they would make a great addition to my lunches, but wasn’t quite sure how long they would keep and how best to reheat them. Luckily, as always, I couldΒ find the answer on the internet πŸ™‚

So, after the remaining buns had cooled down, I packed them individually, and froze them. For packing & reheating, just let the bun defrost overnight, or couple of hours at room temperature. When you are ready to eat it, take a piece of kitchen roll, wet it, and pack your bun in the wet paper. Pop onto a plate, into the microwave for 1.5 min high heat, and it will “steam/reheat”. The dough will get slightly chewy in the microwave, so you could also reheat the bun (without the kitchen paper) for 5 minutes or so in a steamer.

To keep my Hello Kitty Bun company, I also popped a hard boiled egg into my Hello Kitty egg mold πŸ™‚

The Hello Kitty egg is nestled on a bed of spinach, wilted and flavoured with soy sauce/sesame oil/garlic and sesame seeds, basically a Korean recipe (which you can use to top a Bibimbap, or in a Gimbap). There is some sweet chili sauce in the little container, this is for the bun. The lunch was completed with some carrot and edamame beans, some orange pieces and apple, and because it’s almost Easter, some chocolate Easter eggs πŸ˜›

 

23 thoughts on “Hello Kitty Bento

        • The apple is very easy, I will have to include a tutorial one day. Basically you just score the peel with a sharp knife in little squares. You then “peel” off the alternative squares to reveal the checkboard. Rubbing in some lemon juice will help against the apple discolouring

          • Ah I see what you mean. I have to try it myself. Not sure if the skin can be easily peeled off. Oh yes, I think you should include tutorials in future. They will definitely come in very handy for peeps like me πŸ™‚

          • Hope it will work for you.
            I have a page on my blog with tips & tricks, there are some tutorials on it & I try to link back to posts with tutorials. Which reminds me, I might have to link back to today’s post as the step by step photo’s are a sort of tutorial as well…

      • Hi again! Hope you’ve had a good day today πŸ™‚ I received an email notification that you have requested access to my wordpress.com site which I had set on private because it is no longer in use as I have my own server now. (how did you find the link to it anyway?) Do stop by springtomorrow.com to say hello when you have time. I enjoy reading your posts as I love Korean and Japanese food and I love the brilliant colours & cute designs of your bentos which I’m sure you have put in a lot of time and effort to make. Great job by the way! And keep your posts coming in πŸ™‚

  1. OK… I NEED to get the Hello Kitty mold for my Little Bee!!! Got her some Hello Kitty practice chopsticks from Japan Centre over the weekend πŸ˜‰

    • Ah cute chopsticks! I love the cute ones but most cute ones are too small for me…
      Can’t remember where I bought the Hello Kitty egg mold, it was a shop (ie not online) but think it was on a holiday… You can probably find it online somewhere.

Leave a Reply

