A Bear in Bath

Bear-in-bath

I do wonder whether Bear will actually get clean in this bath…..

The “bathwater” is some Japanese curry (see recipe below) and the bear is made with rice and carrot and nori face details. The hands and feet are quail eggs and nori.

Japanese curry is very popular in Japan and quite different in taste from Indian or Thai curry. Curry was introduced to Japan by the British in late 1800 and adapted to the Japanese taste, it’s quite thick and sweet and always served with rice. There are usually three degrees of spiciness: mild, medium hot or hot.

You can make your own Japanese curry powder (see this recipe from Just Hungry)Β but it’s much easier to buy a box of Japanese curry roux! Β You can find Japanese curry sauce/roux in Asian supermarkets or sometimes in the Asian aisle of your regular supermarket. As I had never made this before, I wasn’t quite sure which brand to choose, in the end I choose S&B Golden Curry (sauce mix), Medium Hot as it had a very easy recipe on the back πŸ™‚

Recipe for 2-3 persons

  • Heat 1-2 table spoon vegetable oil in a heavy bottomed pan (I like using Le Creuset iron cast pans for these kind of dishes)
  • Fry 1 large chopped onion in the oil together with 200-300 gr cubed chicken (or beef) until the onions are soft and slightly brown. (I used 3 chicken thighs)
  • Add 1 medium potato per person, cubed and 1 medium carrot per person, also cubed. Stir and fry gentle for a few more minutes.
  • Add about 600 ml water, bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and let simmer until meat is tender and potato/carrot are cooked, approx 15-20 minutes.
  • Add theΒ quantity roux cubes as needed. The packet had 8 portions, divided in 2 x 4 cubes in foil packed containers. I added 2 cubes to my dish (I stored the left over 2 cubes in an air tight container in the fridge).
  • Make sure you stir well until the cubes are completely melted, the mixture will thicken very quickly, so you might want to add a bit more water if needed.
  • Continue to simmer for a further 5 minutes whilst constantly stirring.
  • Serve hot with rice (or with bear…)

Enjoy!

23 thoughts on “A Bear in Bath

      • You might be able to find curry for kids. It often has Anpanman or Hello Kitty or whatever other character is all the rage on the box and the curry is super mild. πŸ˜€ I’ll have to check our local store to see if they have any in stock. I’m not sure how much of it is shipped outside Japan.

          • I can imagine! I think I look at the Japan Centre web site after you mentioned it the first time and it looked pretty impressive. Or else I have a superb imagination for online Japanese stores. Either way, I can imagine it’s hard to choose a curry! There are so many on the shelves in Japan too that without knowing what you want, you basically have to buy them all and have a curry cook off.

  1. Such a cute idea! As for curry, well, YOU have come to the right place. Hitoshi sold curry for his last job in Japan. πŸ˜€ I ate more curry in that year than I ever want to see again. Seriously. 5 years later and I can only take curry once or twice a year. I’ll have to ask him for some suggestions for you if you’re interested. S&B and House brands are pretty ubiquitous out in our neck of the woods and I’m assuming in London, it would be the same??? By the way, perhaps I’ll copy/take inspiration from you and get Hitoshi to whip up something Japanese curry like for japancanmix. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

