Dosirakbento 1 year blogging!

Can’t believe it’s 1 year ago that I started this blog!

My first post featured some onigiri bunnies, so of course I wanted to recreate them again for this anniversary. Because it’s also Valentine, I added some carrot hearts to show that these bunnies are in LOVE…

image

When I started blogging, I didn’t imagine that I would still be blogging one year later. I actually started my blog a bit on a whim, without any clear thoughts or goals. I just thought it would be fun to have photos of the lunches that I was making for myself, partly because the evidence got all eaten 😛 …so a photo diary would keep track of my creations, and partly because I thought blogging about it would challenge myself to come up with some more creative lunches.

I had always been interested in Japanese and Korean food, and after I had seen some bento blogs, I thought… hmmm, I might be able do that :-). Creating bento and dosirak, or at least, my interpretations of them, would also give my blog a sort of theme, namely playing with food in a box.

Well, 1 year later,  with over 160 posts (according to my stats this is post 165, ie an average of 3 per week), almost 18.000!!! views and with more than 825 followers (including email followers), I think I have shown how much fun playing with food in a box can be!

Naturally, there have been times that I struggled to come up with a creative lunch and creative post. As some readers might remember, I did have a bit of a breakthrough last August, when I had a rethink about my blog motivation and decided to stick to the reasons why I started blogging, a diary, my love for Korean/Japanese food and playing with food in a box. That said, not all my posts have been strictly bento/dosirak/lunch/Japanese or Korean related, occasionally other recipes made their appearance, or other subjects caught my attention, and it’s likely that going forward this will happen again. I also still feel I could improve my food photography skills, but am not bothered enough about it to make big changes to what I’m doing now.

My main thought now is, that after 1 year, I still love blogging! What I couldn’t have imagined a year ago, is that I would not only enjoy being creative with my own lunches, but that I would actually feel proud showing them to all the lovely readers that have taken the time to view, read, like, comment, pass on and follow my blog. I think that without all the interaction with other bloggers, the connections made and lovely feedback received, my blog might not have been here today.

So, a big big thank you to all you out there & happy blogging!

Dosirakbento

17 thoughts on “Dosirakbento 1 year blogging!

  1. Well done on reaching a year! And for sticking with it even when it’s hard to find inspiration 🙂 I’ve only been blogging for a bit over 6 months now and am sometimes surprised I’m still posting, though mostly I still feel I have so much I want to write about – after all, we never stop eating 🙂
    Beck

    • Hi, thanks for your comment. It’s a bit of a surprise to me as well, but as you say…we never stop eating..so as long as I will be making lunches for myself I should have something to blog about…

  2. Pingback: Bunny love… | dosirakbento

  3. Pingback: Grumpy Onigiri | dosirakbento

  4. Pingback: Happy Valentine! | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

