Japchae

imageMade some Japchae for dinner last night and had enough leftovers for my lunch today πŸ™‚

Japchae are Korean sweet potato noodles, stir fried with vegetables and beef. Β My recipe is loosely based on that of Maangchi and CrazyKoreanCooking. Although you can serve this dish cold, tepid or warm, I prefer to finish the Japchae by sauteing it again, as the noodles have cooled down after the rinsing, like the Crazy Korean ladies do, and I also omitted the mushrooms and bell pepper.

The recipeΒ looks time consuming because all the ingredients are prepared separately before mixing together, but they each just need a few minutes cooking.

Basically, I mixed:

  • 4 tbls soy sauce with 2 tbl sesame oil, 2 tbls sugar, 1/2 tbl sesame seeds, 2 minced cloves of garlic.
  • I used half of this mixture to marinate some beef (about 100 gram cut in strips).
  • I cooked 100 gr of Dangmyeon (potato starch noodles) in boiling water for about 6 minutes, then drained and rinsed several times in cold water. I put these in a bowl and added the remaining soy sauce mixture, stirring well to make sure the noodles don’t stick together.
  • In an non stick frying pan, heat 1 tbl of vegetable oil and (stir)fry (adding more oil if needed):
    • 1 small onion, cut in thin slivers, for about 5 minutes, add to bowl with noodles
    • 1 carrot, peeled, cut in match sticks, for about 3 minutes, add to bowl
    • spinach, cleaned, for 1 minute, add to bowl
    • the beef strips, for about 5 minutes, add to bowl
  • Once all the ingredients are added to the bowl of noodles, mix it well, and return to frying pan. Reheat for a few minutes on medium heat until the noodles are warm.
  • Optional: garnish with some omelet strips

My dosirak also holds some fried tofu, but I don’t have a recipe as I bought this ready made from the Korean supermarket πŸ™‚

 

20 thoughts on “Japchae

  1. I am so happy you stopped by! I am a fan of Asian cuisine. There are few korean restaurants in my area, and the one I knew about closed along with the Korean market next door to it. I have managed to make Soon du bu (forgive my spelling), Kimchi, Kimchi Jigae, Dubokki, Chamchi Kimchi Jigae, and even an experimental Kimchi Pizza. It’s bben two years since I last cooked them, but they were so different. I really liked them a lot.

    • Thanks for your comment. I’ve been making quite a lot of Sundubu Jjigae (that’s how I spell it, but I have also seen it as Soon Dubu) as it’s such great comfort food when it’s so cold like now. Well done for making Kimchi. I usually buy it as I am way too lazy to make it…

  2. Great photo! Love Japchae but have only ever helped to make it before – once with my sister and once with my friend. I’ll need to try making it properly at some point! Thanks for the share.

  3. Reblogged this on Easy Kooking Korean and commented:
    Koreans eat Japchae for special occasions like birthday parties or festivals.

    Story of How Japchae:
    Thank you for the detailed instruction on how to make Japchae, dosirakbento!
    Japchae was first made in the early 17th century, when the Joseon Dynasty was reigning in the Korean peninsula. When King Gwanghaegun hosted a big party at his palace, one of his lieges, Yi Chung, created this dish to please the king’s palate. The king liked it so much that he rewarded his liege by promoting him to the position of hojo panseo (hangul: ν˜Έμ‘°νŒμ„œ, hanja: ζˆΆζ›Ήεˆ€ζ›Έ, equivalent to the Secretary of the Treasury).[2] At the time, japchae was made with vegetables and mushrooms, such as sliced cucumber, shredded mu, and pyogo (shiitake) mushroom. Since the early 20th century, dangmyeon (cellophane noodles made from sweet potato starch) has become an integral and primary ingredient of this variety of japchae.

Leave a Reply

