Sundubu Jjigae

Sundubu jjigaeMy dinner tonight!

Spicy and comforting, just what I need with this kind of weather.

Sundubu Jjigae is a hot and spicy stew made with a seafood broth (sometimes meat is added as well), seafood, vegetables, spicy seasoning and extra soft tofu (sundubu). Often an egg is added at the last minute. It is served in a hot bowl, which will help cook the egg.

You can also make this dish with seafood only (as I do), meat only, or with Kimchi.

The stew is eaten with rice, I tend to scoop a bit of rice on my spoon, and with that scoop up some of the stew. Or just eat a large spoonful of stew and immediately some rice afterwards to counter- battle the spicy ness. Either way, it’s a great dish and easy to make.

I haven’t actually included a recipe here, but if you google it, you will find that there are many available. The reason why I didn’t include a recipe is because mine is a “cheaters” version…I don’t make the broth myself but buy a ready mix at the Korean supermarket…. I do add some personal touches by adding extra flavouring (fish sauce, anchovies broth powder, gochugaru and gochujang), and of course the tofu, seafood, vegetables and egg, but that hardly equates to a recipe.

Anyway, if you like seafood, tofu and spicy food , I can recommend making this dish. It’s delicious!

14 thoughts on “Sundubu Jjigae

  1. Do you make your own kimchi? I am in West Wales and am wondering where you get your cabbage/red pepper paste if you do. (Although I guess in London they probably aren’t that hard to find!)

  2. Pingback: A love for tofu | dosirakbento

  3. oh yuuummm. i used to eat tons of this back when i used to live in San Francisco. the perfect meal to warm up cold nights. thankgoodness some korean restaurants there tend to open until 2-3am, as i didn’t get off from work until around midnight.

Leave a Reply

