Home made Carrot & Sesame Furikake rice

If you have been following my blog for a while, you will have noticed that I sometimes put Furikake on my rice.

Furikake are Japanese sprinkles/toppings/seasoning to flavour your rice (or onigiri). It is often made of a mixture of dried fish, seaweed, vegetables, herbs, sesame seeds and salt. You can buy it at Japanese grocery stores, or you can make your own!

This weekend, I decided to make some carrot & sesame furikake, I used this recipe from Just Hungry, and although it took a bit more time than I thought, it was very easy.

Her recipe says to grate 4 medium carrots and slowly dry cook in a large non stick pan (on medium heat) until reduced until 1/4, stirring occasionally.

The left photo below shows my carrots, and the right hand shows same carrot, but 25 minutes later – Maki says it takes about 15-20 minutes, but it took me 25 minutes, maybe my medium carrots are larger than hers! 🙂

Once it has reduced down, you add 2 tbls of soy sauce (I accidentally added 3, but well, as I had more carrot, I don’t think it is a problem), quickly stirring until the liquid is evaporated.  Add 1/2 tablespoon of raw cane sugar or brown sugar. Stir.

Push the carrot to the sides and add 4 table spoons of sesame seeds in the middle, stir until a few start to pop, and take the pan of the heat. You can add some extra seasoning to it in the form of nanami tohgarashi (Japanese 7-ingredient red pepper powder, preferably one with yuzu peel in it), or red pepper flakes but I left it like it is.

You need to completely cool it down before storing in an airtight container in the fridge, and it will keep up to a week (depending on how “dry” your mixture is, if still very moist, it will keep shorter). Sprinkle it on rice or soup.

A cheaper & healthier furikake than shop bought plus a great way to use up carrots!

10 thoughts on “Home made Carrot & Sesame Furikake rice

    • I also have a lot of store bought furikake…but luckily those keep for a long time. Plus I like the variation :-).
      This carrot furikake is a great way to finish up carrots….

  1. Pingback: Dosirakbento | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

