Yujacha (Korean Yuzu tea)

Previously, I mentioned my cold, and one of the things I do to try battle it, is by drinking Yujacha!

Yujacha.jpg

I am drinking quite a lot of this at the moment, allegedly it’s good for a cold but I also like the taste and smell of it.

When I first saw these pots in the Korean supermarket, next to the boxes of green and other teas, I thought it was some sort of random Korean shelving strategy (like in UK supermarkets, they always put the brand products on eye sight level, and all the breakfast products in the same (group) of aisles). I thought “hmm, marmalade next to tea, how odd?” But when I looked closely at the label, it DID say tea!

Of course I’m always happy to try out new products (especially when they have some translated instructions, which luckily was the case) so I took it home and sort of forgot about it until this month. But Autumn has started, and with it lots of rain….and the associated colds and coughs…I’ve been sniffling quite a lot and have been in search for comforting food and drinks.

Time for the Yujacha!

Yujacha or yuja cha is a traditional Korean (herbal tea) made from the citrus fruit yuzu (i.e. not lemon as the translation on the pot says!). It seems very similar to how marmalade is made, the fruit is thinly sliced, peel and all and combined with honey or sugar to be preserved. The end result looks like a jelly/jam/marmalade with floating bits of peel and even pips.

I think you can drink it hold and cold, but I have only been making hot drinks with it, just stirring a table spoon in a mug of hot water.  The jelly/jam/marmalade dissolves in the water and the peel is very soft so you can just drink/eat it. It has the most gorgeous smell, bit difficult to describe but a sort of warm, lemony smell with a spicy undertone (note, there are no spices at all in it, it’s just in the smell).

Yuja cha is good for colds, coughs, headaches and chills because it contains a lot of vitamin C and it helps soothe the inflammation in throats. Fingers crossed it will help!

28 thoughts on “Yujacha (Korean Yuzu tea)

  1. If you have a cough try soaking a daikon (white radish) in some honey for four hours at room temperature. The liquid that results is good for a cough.
    Leslie

  2. I love yuzu and am down to my very last jar of yuzu jam purchased on a trip to Tokyo. I was introduced to yuzu tea whilst searching high and low for a bottle of yuzu sake to take home with me. So glad I did. It’s delicious.

  3. I LOVE this tea! My Korean friend gave me a jar of it last winter. It smells amazing, and tastes even better! It helped both my husband and I get through our colds last year, and definitely itches that scratch for something citrus-y on cold days!

  4. I have yujacha in my fridge too. Other than boost of vitamin C when needed, it’s awesome to serve for asian guest that don’t drink tea or coffee. You can dilute it to the sweetness wanted. I saw in my asian supermarket there are a honey ginger korean tea. I wonder if that’s any good to drink for a cold. Ginger is supposed to be good for cough at night.

    • The pot I bought is actually the undiluted tea, which has a jam like consistency. I think you can keep it for quite a long time in the fridge, as long as you use a clean spoon every time you use some.

      • Yeah I love that stuff but it would take me a year to finish one of those big bottles. I usually only drink one hot drink a day…and I like to switch between 5 different kinds of tea and coffee. But it is wonderful…have you tried the ginger flavor?

  5. i love this stuff. i’d drink it even when i’m not having a cold. it’s a great thirst quencher when served cold during a hot day.

    • Haven’t tried to drink it cold yet, something I will do once it will get hot again…but that won’t be until at least couple of months 😦
      Until then I will just drink it hot 🙂

Leave a Reply

