The very hungry caterpillar Bento

IMG_0827.JPG

This Bento was again inspired by my recent Yum Yum Bento book win!

As you can see, it was featured on the back cover of the book, and it’s a very quick and easy Bento to recreate.

My caterpillar is a very hungry one, it has 5 rice balls instead of 4 :-P. Β I added some minced beef to represent the earth that the caterpillar is lying on…and of course lots of flowers and veggies for the caterpillar to eat.

Just realised that the lunch box I used today is the Tum Tum box…so I now have a Yum Yum lunch in a Tum Tum lunchbox… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Please note that I have not been asked/paid to review this book, but that I won it recently in a Japan Centre competition. However, I do find it a very practical and inspiring book, both for new bento makers and not so new bento makers, so can definitely recommend it. It is available at Japan Centre or Amazon.

22 thoughts on “The very hungry caterpillar Bento

  1. Hello!
    I must say I’m loving these new designs. Mind if I tweet on the Japan Centre twitter about them?

  2. AHHH!!!! This is so ridiculously cute! Loving the blog πŸ˜€
    I don’t usually pack my lunch, and lack artistic mind…but seriously…seeing all these makes me want to try and change my lunch habits πŸ˜›

    • Thank you πŸ™‚

      I hope you will start packing your lunch, you can be so creative or minimalistic as you want! Not all my lunches look like this one, sometimes I have a very boring one (but I don’t often post those…)

    • Thanks!

      Yes, I used nori for the spots and eyes. I actually use a normal paper puncher for these, you know the ones that you can find in the office? I have one that only punches 1 hole, and it’s exactly the good size for something like this.

      Can’t remember which puncher I used for the mouth, probably a nori specific one.

      The “cheeks” are coloured egg sheet.

  3. Pingback: Boosting the Signal | Pilcrows & Cedillas

  4. Pingback: Bento Boxes overview | dosirakbento

  5. Pingback: Caterpillar Bento & Korean translation help? | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

