Animal Farm Bento

IMG_0818.JPG

This bento is inspired by my win of the Yum-Yum Bento Box book (see post here)!

Using some of the bento (tutorials) shown this book, I decided to combine several examples and created an Animal Farm in my new Bento box (I thought the pink lid & the bunnies on the box fitted in with the theme πŸ™‚ ) with a lamb, chick and pig!

I did a few things different from the book:

  • As I didn’t have any pink food colouring, I coloured the rice for the little lamb and pig with some perilla shiso furikake and a drop of red colouring. The end result is not as bright as I hoped for, and the perilla leaves remain visible. You just have to imagine it’s a scruffy piggie who has rolled in some mud & that the lamb has straws in her fleece πŸ˜‰
  • The tutorial recommends using luncheon meat for the face details for the chick and the pig, but I hardly ever eat luncheon meat. Instead I used an egg sheet (which was coloured with some red food colouring but turned out very pink…)

The rice balls (chick and pig) are filled with an umeboshi. The farm “garden” has edamame beans, broccoli, carrot, cucumber flowers, cherry tomatoes and some quail egg flowers. I had not made quail egg flowers before, so was pleased with how they turned out.

One other thing that was really useful from the book (aside from the quail egg flowers and the animal examples) was their tip to use thin uncooked spaghetti to secure face details to rice. I used very thin Japanese noodles instead. In both cases, the moisture from the rice will make the noodles soft and edible by the time you’ll eat it for lunch!

These are the pictures from the Yum-Yum Bento Box book: How do you think mine compare?

28 thoughts on “Animal Farm Bento

    • Thanks!
      Yes, it’s a great tip and so much easier than trying to keep it ‘sticking’ with water. I used those very thin Japanese noodles, they had gone completely soft when I ate the onigiri.

    • Thanks for your comment, I actually can’t decide which one I like best myself…., I think the chick is easier to make because you don’t have to colour the rice…

  1. you’ve colored the rice pink! lol. you certainly have outdone yourself. remember to do the same next year in february.

  2. Pingback: Flower bento box review | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

