I won! I won! I won! (and 100th blog post)

Early this month Japan Centre held a competition where you could win a Bento book, by submitting a photo and/or link of Japanese food you had made. I submitted my ‘girl gathering egg bento’ and last week they announced that I had won!

Aside from a very flattering reference to my Bento and my blog (which you can read here on their blog), they also sent me my prize, this lovely Yum-Yum Bento Box book which I received in the post today!

IMG_0813-0.JPG

It may seem odd, but this is actually my first Bento book (and also why I entered the competition). I get most of my inspiration from other (bento) bloggers, but I was keen to have a reference guide with tips & tricks and lots of photo’s for more inspiration.

A quick glance through this book shows already that this is a very practical book for new AND not so newΒ Bento makers. I saw some very handy tips that I hadn’t seen before (like how to shape a quail egg into a flower, and how to use a toothpick for cutting cheese) so I am keen to start showing some lunches I will make with the help of this book.

I especially like a two page spread which shows in a photo overview all kind of ingredients you can use to make Happy Faces, like cheese for ears or spaghetti for hair, and also examples on how to turn eggs into kawaii ingredients for your bento. There are lots of photos with example Bentos and step by step instructions on how to recreate them, some recipes and general information about Bento, Bento tools, ingredients and how to pack.

Anyway, I will have a further look at the book, and think about a Bento using this book and/or inspired by this win. Am actually thinking I might want to recreate all the Bento as shown on the cover….so I guess, wait & see!

Most importantly, I want to thank Japan Centre for holding this competition and for awarding me the prize! Am really happy with it πŸ™‚

(and I’m sure that I will be looking to buy more Bento accessories / Japanese food ingredients at Japan CentreΒ to create even more Bentos…..)

Coincidentally, I just noticed that this is my 100th post on my blog!!! When starting this blog I couldn’t imagine I would create 100 Korean/Japanese inspired lunches and blogging about them. Well, I could imagine the first bit (as I do like my food…) but not the blogging bit πŸ˜‰

So, this is also a good moment to also thank all my readers & followers and all the other bloggers who inspire me! BIG THANKS & HAPPY BLOGGING!

35 thoughts on “I won! I won! I won! (and 100th blog post)

  1. Pingback: Animal Farm Bento | dosirakbento

  2. Pingback: Boy loves girl bento | dosirakbento

  3. Pingback: ActiviTEA (product review) | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

