TumTum Bento (review)

TumTum bentoSome time ago I lost the little pot of my TumTum lunch set, and because it has such an unique shape I couldn’t find a suitable replacement, and sort of forgot to use this lunch set.

When organising my Bento accessories, I found the box again, and decided that I really wanted to use it, so I contacted TumTum in the hope that they were able to sell me the little pot separately. They replied very quickly, telling me they don’t sell the item separately, but offered very kindly to see if they had one spare and send it to me.

TumTum has a great range of cute lunch/food products for children, all in very bright colours and cute designs. They created these cheerful children friendly products to help their own children enjoy eating their food and came up with the name TumTum because that is their daughter’s name for her tummy! You can find their products here.

TumTum lunch set

I don’t have any children, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t use their lunch box :-). I love the bright colours and find it very practical to pack. It feels like a good quality, sturdy, lunch box, and it’s a great size for all kind of food (not only for kids, but also for greedy adults…) plus the little pot is leak proof so very good for packing dressing, yogurt, sauces etc. Of course everything is also BPA free and dishwasher proof. The lunch set I have is actually an older design and has now been replaced by the even cuter Bugs version, see here.

My bento packed in the TumTum lunch box consists of:

  • Rice mixed with peas and corn and topped with carrots and some nori strips;
  • The little container has a soy dipping sauce;
  • Pan fried prawns and a tea egg (made earlier this week); and
  • A rice cracker;
  • A very quick bento to pack (15 minutes)!

Tea egg (recipe courtesy of Feral Bento)

  • Boil some eggs (put them on with cold-room temp water, bring to a boil, then turn the heat off and wait about 10 minutes before taking them out)
  • Let the boiled eggs cool down (this is important) and then crack the shell all over
  • Heat up a small saucepan of water, add about 1/2-1 cup of soy sauce, 1-2 tablespoons of Chinese five spice, and 2-3 black tea bags (any kind works).  I use about 0.5 liter water for 3 eggs
  • Once boiling, turn the heat down to really really low, add the cracked eggs and simmer for HOURS
  • I take them out after 2-3 hours, but as long as you keep the heat very low, the eggs should be fine if you simmer them longer
  • They will keep well in the fridge for a couple of days (store them in their shell in a zip lock bag)

Please note that I have not been asked nor paid to review this lunch set and that the above is my own opinion. I have however received the replacement pot free of charge. 

If you want to see another lunch, using the Bugs Lunch box, Eats Amazing has written a great review which you can find here.(I now want that ladybird lunch bag…

19 thoughts on “TumTum Bento (review)

    • See my comments to Joanna….
      I did a post on bento accessories in August, but did not include a picture off my bento boxes. I might write something in a weekend when I have more time to take them all of the shelf and make photo’s..

  1. I love the line where you say that you don’t have any children, but that doesn’t mean you can’t use their lunch box. As someone who still gets excited over colouring books, among other “kiddie stuff,” I get it.

    • He, why should our (adult) lunch look boring! 🙂

      I love it when my lunch looks fun & having a pretty lunch box helps a lot. I also get very excited when I see “kiddie stuff”…especially food kiddie stuff…

      Plus knowing I have a nice (and fun looking) lunch waiting for me helps me to avoid going to the shop and buy crap food….

Leave a Reply

