Asian fruit jelly? Does anyone know?

fruit jelly.jpg

Lychee & mango fruit jelly?

Went to H-mart today, which is one of the Korean supermarkets nearby. Because it’s Chuseok (Korean harvest festival/Korean Thanksgiving Day), they were handing out Songpyeon to taste, which are traditional rice cakes. I am not a big fan of them, though they do look pretty.

Luckily they were also handing out rice crackers to taste and as it was just before lunch time, I greedily tucked in 😛 and bought some packs. I don’t think the rice crackers have anything to do with Chuseok (they are not even Korean, at least not the pack that we bought! Want Want: Product of Taiwan!), but they are quite nice and they come in small packs so ideal for a lunch snack.

rice crackers

Anyway, the girl behind the tasting counter was quite happy that we bought several packs and she gave us some fruit jelly snacks as a gift. Her English wasn’t great, so I’m actually not sure at all what she gave us except that it’s lychee and mango (I think) and it feels like a jelly consistence.

Lychee & Mango fruit jelly?

Lychee & Mango fruit jelly?

So, I’m posting up this picture in the hope that one of my readers can enlighten me :-).

Anyone?

14 thoughts on “Asian fruit jelly? Does anyone know?

  1. The packaging is pretty wild. Hubby and I think it might be jelly in little cups. While there is katakana on the left that say what you thought, the characters are Chinese. So, have you opened them up and tried them?? 😀

    The senbae is quite the mix! Not sure who thought Want Want would be a good name. As for shelly sembae, what a mystery! Plus the French and English and then characters… simplified or traditional Chinese?? No idea.. I’ll ask my friend next week!

    • Sometimes I really have to laugh about the “English” names they come up with :-).

      Haven’t tried the jelly sweets yet, but somebody else responded they are nicer when you eat them cold.

      • Thanks for the explanation, that’s actually quite interesting to know. I think that in Europe/USA businesses sometimes choose their names based on Greek or Latin mythology (think Amazon or Nike so there is a similar kind of thought behind choosing a “advantageous” brand name, just the origin of it is different!

    • I finally could show my Taiwanese friend your post and her replies were fun. Hopefully I got it all right. We were supervising our babies plus chatting and I didn’t write anything down. 😀

      First, the jellys… Japanese writing appeals to older generations in Taiwan due to knowledge of Japanese from when Taiwan was a Japanese colony. Japanese writing also helps sell the product – it looks fancier and is supposed to be Japanese-style jelly. Since Taiwan uses traditional Chinese, as I learned today, I’m guessing that’s what the writing is. This is a very popular brand. The mini cups, which these were?? are sold individually in candy aisles in grocery stores in Japan. You just suck out the jelly. The larger sizes need a spoon and my inlaws usually serve them at room temp. They are popular for summer gifts. Did you throw some in the fridge first?

      Now the senbae! The translation is snow crackers because of the sugar. The “shelley” makes sense from the mandarin. My friend actually did some work for Want Want when she lived in Taiwan! She said the brand name Want Want has no meaning but most of it sounds like the super wealthy, well known real person’s name Wan, ie. the maker. She doesn’t know why there’s a “t” on the end. As for the Chinese characters, the meaning is… I forgot but someone else mentioned something about this. The brand is also easy to find in Canada. In fact, those crackers are her husband’s favorite.

      • Ah, snow cracker makes totally sense. They do look like they have snow on it, at least the sweeter version does.

        It’s quite interesting to hear those kind of back stories about branding (Japanese style etc), I guess we had something similar in Europe with the Americanisation after the WWII.

        Thanks for asking.

        • Agreed! Understanding a little more gives me clues into the minds of decision makers and what is deemed an influence. It also helps me question the packaging I see every day. Like the silly hair gel in our bathroom that boldly claims it can outlast extreme heat, cold, humidity and wind. It’s called Survivor. (rolling eyes)

  2. yeah. i’ve had those fruit jellies, though not the exact same brand. it’s very taiwanese. they have plenty of choices there with various flavors.

Leave a Reply

