Sushi

sushi roll bento lunch box

I just love sushi!

But I am not very good in rolling it, my maki rolls always seem to end up a bit wonky or with the filling falling out. Would love to learn how to make Sushi roll art, like this Japanese artist does here . It looks amazing, but would require so much patience (something I lack).

Anyway, when I feel the need for sushi (which is quite often..) I tend to make a deconstructed version or just buy it, but this time I grabbed the sushi mat and gave it another go.

Actually, I think it does look pretty ok and it certainly tasted more than just ok!

The sushi roll is filled with crab(sticks), omelet, cucumber and avocado. I added the left over cucumber sticks, some radishes and loads of gari (ginger) in the top compartment. Also some more wasabi (I spread some wasabi on the rice as well before rolling it) and of course some soy sauce.

(I ate this lunch at home, so no faffing around early in the morning)

25 thoughts on “Sushi

  1. Hi again! So, my excitement was short-lived. I’m back to no luck commenting on the blog but it seems to be working through my reader. Yay!
    Rolling sushi is a challenge. Here are some things that have helped me. Perhaps you’re already doing them?? Let the rice cool well. Lay the nori so that the lines are opposite those on the rolling mat. The rough edge should be up. Spread the rice thinly over the nori almost to the edges. When you start rolling, press firmly but gently (I know, opposites!) at each quarter turn. Leave the roll to set for a while before cutting it.
    Love the lid!

    • I think I just have to practice more 🙂

      But you know, sushi is just not great to make for work lunches because it’s too time consuming, so I often make deconstructed ones (or as you call them, lazy sushi) instead or only make it when I’m having lunch at home. I do want to try making some Kimbap, the Korean version, but I need to think up a master plan so first and get myself properly organises I have all the ingredients prepped in advance….(+ setting the alarm clock at 5 or so….)

      • Sounds good. 😀 Good luck!
        Ha ha ha! Yes, maki for lunch is ambitious with all the fanning, mixing and rolling. I didn’t know there was a Korean version! I know almost nothing about Korean food. How is it similar/different?

        • The Korean Kimbap is very similar to sushi, but also very different. The main difference is that they don’t use rice vinegar but flavour the rice with some sesame oil. I think that the most traditional Kimbap uses beef but I’ve seen (and eatens ome) versions that are entirely vegetarian, with crab, tuna and even spam! Apparently the spam is a residue from the American soldiers….

          • If you can roll sushi maki you can roll kimbap 😉
            There are loads of good recipe on internet and you can probably find most of the ingredients in any asian supermarket.

          • Oh, and there is this crazy korean girl website, think they are based in Canada. They give great advice on Korean cooking, have an online shop and have very funny videos. Crazy ladies but fun! Don’t know the exact website address but if you google crazy korean cooking you should be able to find them

          • Thanks much for the suggestions! I told hubby about the sesame oil with rice and beef and him being him, he knows all about it. 😀 I found the “crazy” site easily and it looks so funny! I hope I remember to look at it more. Okay, it’s on my blog calendar. 😀

        • Re differences Japanese – Korean food, I am exploring and learning myself, so I don’t know that much about it, but to me it seems that Japanese food has a “cleaner” taste and is more subdued and refined compared to Korean food. Korean food is quite often bold, and spicy, lots of garlic, sesame, red pepper paste, kimchi etc.

          This is of course very generic, and as I say, I am learning about these cuisines myself, but does this make sense?

          Oh, and having said that, there are of course also a lot of similarities as well, because the Japanese cuisine did influence the Korean cuisine a lot due to common history.

  2. My Korean friends taught me to make kimbap with smoked sausage, omelets, cucumber, and pickled daikon radishes. The most important thing was the pickled daikon radishes. You essentially make a fried rice first, with leftover cold rice, sesame oil, chopped smoked sausage, and whatever else you want to throw in (but NOT egg) (like kimchi or scallions or something). Then you use the fried rice like you’d use the Japanese sushi rice, and lay thin strips of omelet, cucumber, and pickled radish on it before you roll. They can be rolled hot and served hot, and are actually pretty awful if they’re too cold. But what’s good about that is that you can serve them as leftovers and reheat them in the microwave.

    • Oh that sounds interesting. I’m only familiar with the cold version. But this version sounds like it could be easier to make for lunch because you could make it the evening before and just reheat in the microwave.

  3. I am in love with sushi, I try to get it every week, it’s one of my favorite things to eat. I want to learn how to make it so that I don’t have to go out as much and buy it.

Leave a Reply

