First time potato Dosirak!

Actually there are 2 firsts in this Dosirak!

It’s the first time that I have included potato for my lunch & it’s the first time that I made this potato side dish: Gamjajorim!

dosirak bento lunch with gamjajorim potato side dish

Gamjajorim is a potato side dish, it can be eaten warm, tepid or cold and once made, keeps for a few days if stored in the fridge. The best potatoes to use are firm, waxy ones, as these keep their shape better. Also, make sure that you cut the potato cubes the same size to ensure even cooking.

Recipes can be found here at Maangchi or at Aeri’s KitchenΒ , they are both very similar. Maangchi uses olive oil though and adds onion. I wasn’t sure about olive oil, so I substituted this for sunflower oil as I think the taste is better suited. I also left out the onion and followed the quantities in Aeri’s recipe for the corn syrup.

Here it is, freshly made:

gamjajorim korean potato side dish

I prepared this yesterday, so this morning I only had to add the other elements, which are some sweet chicken pieces, salad, carrot, radish and some corn on the cob. I also added 2 apricots.

It all just fitted in my lunch box, it’s a good thing the lid of Β this box closes very tightly…

Will definitely make Gamjajorim again, it’s very easy and delicious!

10 thoughts on “First time potato Dosirak!

  1. How are you? I had a bit of a lull there and am back posting and enjoying reading the posts of yours that I’ve missed! In other great news, I downloaded Safari and have had no issues with accessing your blog. I still have no clue why IE, FF *and* Chrome won’t work. Who knows?! πŸ˜€ By the way, your blog looks fantastic in Safari.

    I love the apricots – they add gorgeous color to the spread. I’d also like to try gamjajorim! I don’t cook potatoes often and I’ve been looking for new ideas. You mentioned about using “firm, waxy ones” but how do I know if a potato is like this? I have no clue!

    • Thanks!

      Technology wise I’m pretty clueless. I had to learn on the way when starting this blog, and I still am struggling with simple things like sharing on other media…Allegedly I have google+ and Pinterest account, but I never seem to have the time to properly look into how these actually work and how best to link them to my blog. I really like blogging, sharing my lunches with others, but I had underestimated how much work it can take up. I also make lots more lunches that I don’t even blog about, just because I’m think they are too boring for my readers.

      Hence my quest to try out new dishes so I can add a bit more variety to my lunches πŸ˜‰ I do love potatoes, so it was great to find a Korean recipe that makes a good lunch dish. This is definitely one that I will make again, also because it’s so easy and can be prepared in advance.

      I had to google for waxy potatoes and the varieties that you can buy here in the UK are Charlotte, Maris Peer and Jersey Royals. Am not sure if you are able to buy those in Canada. I guess any type of salad potato would probably work. Just avoid the ones that you would use for making mash!

      • Oh goodness, yes. I have been so surprised at how much time blogging can take. Me, too! With Google+ and dragging myself back to FB but this time with a page. It feels overwhelming without a strategy.

        Thanks for the potato info! I have no idea about names or types and the signs aren’t too helpful at the store. Red, white, baby, mixed baby (all of which I can clearly see) and baking. Ha! This will be a mini project. πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: Many sides make a main | dosirakbento

  3. Pingback: Carrot men eating my lunch… | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

