Tour de France!

After Football & Wimbledon, it’s now time for the Tour de France!

bento dosirak lunch tour de france nori bike yellow and red polka dot jersey

You might all be thinking I’m a big sports person, but nothing could be further from the truth! I’m not sportive at all, contrary, I’m actually very lazy, and I don’t watch much sport either, aside from occasionally rugby or tennis or when the Olympics were in London (in 2012).

But I do find some of the events a good inspiration to be a bit more creative with my lunches. As you might have noticed I’m trying on my blog to show a mix of work day lunchboxes (which don’t take a lot of time to put together, max 15-20 minutes) and creative lunches (on days when I have more time and/or inspiration).

In this case,Β Β the most time consuming was cutting out the bike (I used the same nori sheet technique as with the Wimbledon tennis racket) and making egg sheets for the Yellow and Polka Dot Jerseys. The polka dots are cut out from radish.

Side dishes are (from left to right):

Sookju namul (beansprout salad), Odeng bokkum (spicy fish cake),Β Musangche (radish salad), some edamame beans and Congjaban (sweet and salty soybeans). With the exception of the Sookju namul, the others are bought ready made at the Korean supermarket. I did make the Sookju namul myself, it’s very simple, I had just forgotten how long it takes to properly clean beansprouts!

Sookju namul (beansprout salad):

1 bag of bean sprouts (I forgot to look how much it weighted, I think about 750 gram uncleaned), wash and clean. After cleaning you are left with about 500 gram.

Boil the bean sprouts for 3-4 minutes in salted water & drain well.

Mix with: 1 tbsp sesame oil, 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1 tsp soy sauce, 1-2 finely chopped spring onion, 1 tbsp sesame seeds.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Tour de France!

  1. Pingback: Autumn Tree Bento & nori cutting tutorial | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

