Bibimbap

I love Bibimbap!

Bibimbap lunch

For me, Bibimbap (mixed rice) is Korean comfort food, just adding all the toppings to the rice, then mixing it together with some Gochujang…mjammie!

Unfortunately I don’t have a dolsot, a stone bowl which gets heated. Once hot, it is “pasted”Β with some sesame oil before adding the rice. The hot bowl cooks the rice, leaving you with a nice crust. It also cooks the egg or beef if you add this raw.

Instead of using a dolsot, I used a frying pan, added some sesame oil and put in the cooked rice. The rice was freshly cooked, ie still warm, so I just pressed it down into the pan to create the lovely crust. As topping I used some ground beef which I had previously marinated with some soy sauce, sugar, garlic and ginger. Other toppings are carrot (julienne, quickly stir fried with some sesame oil and some added sesame seeds), courgette (also julliene, stir fried with soy sauce, garlic, onion flakes and sesame oil), chard (stir fried with some soy sauce) and cucumber (marinated in gochujang, apple vinegar, garlic, gochugaru, sugar). To top it I added a fried egg.

I had this for lunch at home, but of course it can be mixed together and packed up for a Dosirak lunch. But I think it’s best eaten when hot and whilst the crust is still..well crusty!

6 thoughts on “Bibimbap

  1. Bibimbap is one of my favourite foods here. It was one of the first Korean foods my brother introduced me too, and even know it is one of my favourite things to get when I want take out. This looks so fantastic!

Leave a Reply

