No rice Dosirak

Normally, when I make a Korean or Japanese based lunch, I always include rice. But this morning, it turned out that I had ran out of cooked rice*! And not enough time to cook some fresh, so instead I filled my Dosirak with lots of Jeon.

 

no rice bento dosirak panjeon jeon courgette haemul seafood

There is also some tamagoyaki, and mixed vegetables (carrot, broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower and snowpeas).

Jeon is a Korean pancake, the most known version is a Panjeon, pan = green onion, ie it’s a green onion pancake. There are a lot of different versions, basically you just add your favourite ingredients to the batter!

The 2 versions that are included in my Dosirak are courgette jeon and seafood jeon.

Sometimes courgette slices are dipped into the batter (I use a ready mixed batter from the Korean supermarket) and fried. My courgette jeon is made by grating the courgette, and after draining it, add it to the batter. The seafood panjeon has octopus, prawns and crabsticks in it.

 

*Re preparing rice. I think I have already written about this, but I always prepare rice in advance for my lunches. Basically, every time when I eat rice, I cook some more and portion this up, about 1 to 1.5 Japanese cup per portion. I close the container whilst the rice is still warm, this way the rice keeps nice and moist.  When I prepare my lunch in the morning, the first thing I do is take a portion of rice out of freezer and put it in the microwave. Just Bento has a very useful blogpost  on how to freeze rice. She used microwavable cling film, but I prefer freezing it in small containers. 

Leave a Reply

