Spring Equinox

Equinox-dosirak-bentoToday is Spring Equinox Day

There are two equinoxes every year, in March and September,where the sun shines directly on the equator and the length day and night is nearly equal. This year, the Spring Equinox (in the UK – ie Northern hemisphere, in the Southern hemisphere it would be the Autumn Equinox ) is on 20 March. Β 

My dosirakbento represents that day and night are equal.

The day is made of blue coloured rice with a Korean pickled radish sun & the night is made of rice covered with nori, with a cheese moon and stars.

It may seem like a lot of rice, but the layer is quite thin. I normally freeze rice in ca 1.5 cup portions, and for this dosirakbento I used less than 1 freezer portion. In the end, I actually didn’t eat all the rice because I do feel that blue rice is a bit odd…

Also included are:

Chicken & egg (Oyakodon. I can’t remember which recipe I used, but this recipeΒ hereΒ is easy to follow).

Haemul Pajeon (Seafood/Scallion pancake. I used this recipe but with ready made Korean pancake mix and without pepper). I know, the scallion on top looks a little bit burned….but trust me, it looked worse than it tasted.

Avocado slices (which goes well with the cheese decoration) & tomato

And a tiny lemon cupcake.

This Dosirakbento was quite quick to put together because most dishes were prepared in advanced and frozen in portions. Plus the decoration is very simple. I only think that there should have been some more vegetables and/or fruit.

6 thoughts on “Spring Equinox

Leave a Reply

