Dosirakbento

20140220-133216.jpg
Today is literally a dosirakbento, a combination of Korean and Japanese (inspired) food.

Initially I tried to make an Olympic theme bento, using bread, but I got frustrated with my attempts + I didn’t have any blue coloured food to complete the Olympic rings. I might try again with rice but not sure if I get inspired before the winter Olympics end.

Meanwhile I made a quick Japanese style noodle salad, with some ready cooked chicken. I still had some chopped carrots and spring onion left over from my Gaeran mari (see yesterday) so added that to the salad and made a quick dressing with soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar and some mirin. I kept the dressing minimal because the Korean side dish (broccoli) is very flavoured. Some cherry tomatoes, cucumber and cress completed it and helped to add more colour.

This took about 10 minutes to make, cooking the noodles only takes 3 minutes, and the other ingredients were either ready or just need a quick wash and chop.

Not a very pretty dositakbento but lots of colours and it tastes very good!

One thought on “Dosirakbento

  1. Pingback: Not a packed bento lunch today… but (small) bento boxes (review) | dosirakbento

Leave a Reply

